top of page

On traversing my long road



New year with renewed emphasis.

For me, it’s still the same long avenue

With storms happening only there

And exclusive cold piercing through.


Fireflies and orbs pop up sometimes;

They distract me momentarily

Until I snap back and remember:

The only thing constant here is me.


Who knows how long the road goes?

What creatures linger in the night?

I knew from the start—

This is a solo fight.


So, if I can’t cast away the clouds

Nor cut away the thorns

In this dark path I’ve always taken

I’d rather walk alone.


If one day I find the exit

Of this cold dark cell

I hope I deserve the warmth

Of the sunshine waiting there.


If when I reach the end of the tunnel

My treasure cannot be found,

I’ll blindly live with its ghost in mind

While its memories resound.


For now, let me find my way.

But if I get lost or forever be trapped,

The best thing I did in my futile life

Is to save the most precious thing I have.


Even with false hopes and hunger,

Even I seem stuck standing still in time

I’ll keep walking so that one day

I can say, “I deserved what was mine.”


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Never

I craved for validation and misinterpreted the words I heard.

Blog Idea Dropbox

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page